top of page
  • an0therpoet

The Impending Doom of My Next Mouth Wreck

by a0therpoet


Silence is golden, and that is why I have no money  

Instead of the gift of gab, I have shackles of speech!  

  

The mangling of verbs, nouns, even common phrases,  

Come speeding off the starting line  

My brain’s already waving the checkered flag 

Yet I’m still driving my point home – or not? 

  

As the audience listens, gathered to witness this horror,  

The quizzical look on my conversational partner’s face  

Sends my brain scrambling for a better way  

  

Peeling out from the pit lane, I try to steer out of the skid  

Instead injuring those I meant to befriend  

And every dime I spent on my vocabulary  

Sends me crashing into the boards once again 

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Life Time Race

by Alexandria Lewis Her son did not return home— A mother cried last night, taken by the ones who wore blue even though he did everything...

Senses

by Meriam Ziyadeh Can you hear the silence even when it’s loud? Can you taste the pain whether it’s the saltiness that falls down your...

Sinner

by Meriam Ziyadeh I remember when you said to me, that if God can forgive, then who are we not to forgive? I told you that I forgive, but...

Comments


bottom of page